How to Recall an Email in Gmail?

Google launches undo Send feature for Gmail (Android)

You probably won’t get second chances in life. Gmail’s Undo Send feature gives us a break that we need. Composing an Email is deceptively hard, composing a mail that’s free of typos is difficult as the distractions provided by social media sites like Facebook, and all pile up.

For those of us who have regretted clicking “send” on an email the moment it delivered to the recipient, Google has finally come to rescue.  This feature saves us from embarrassing typos, spelling, and grammatical mistakes since long on the desktop version.

It is noteworthy that the “Undo” feature of Gmail App first rolled out in the year 2015.

This feature has a similarity with the “Delete for everyone” feature in WhatsApp. Users can recall or retract a message if you have sent it in a hurry or it has some errors that need to be fixed.

The most important thing is that you have to turn the feature on before sending a mail. Once you have activated the Undo Send feature you can recall a mail. As you send a message you will see “Your message has been sent”. You can either view or undo your mail.

The “Undo Send” feature already exists on the Gmail Inbox App on the Android and iOS system (Mobile version). The feature will soon roll out for the mobile version of the Gmail App. According to a report made by Android Police, the 8.7 version of the Gmail App includes this new feature.

The tech giant is making it a permanent feature after it gained popularity with Gmail Lab.  But it’s currently turned off for those who are using Gmail Lab.

Following are the Steps to Enable Undo Send:-

  1. Navigate to Settings in Gmail, just below the mechanical gear icon.
  2. Scroll down to the Undo Send option in the “General Tab” settings tab.
  3. Check the box next to it. You can adjust your “window of time”.
  4. (Set the time if you want to unsend or undo an email) The cancellation time periods are 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 20 seconds, and 30 seconds.
  5. Next Click on “Save Changes” to save your new settings. Don’t forget this part.

 

Leave a Comment